Starting Slow

Butternut Squash Fries (scroll down for recipe)

 

It’s one thing to have an unprocessed kitchen.  It’s another to have your family eat the foods you prepare.  There are a few things I did, which in retrospect have attributed to our success.

One, we started slowly.  I didn’t throw out all the processed foods at once.  I kept what we had around and used the foods to bribe the children.  At first glance of some of the new foods, they were less than enthusiastic.  In fact sometimes obstinate, refusing to try. Bribery is your best friend in the beginning. I would bargain, ” If you try this, I’ll let you have some of this.”  It worked!   Once or twice I used a dollar! Little by little the complaining decreased and I was able to bribe them with raisins or other sweet treats that were unprocessed.

Another key to our success was experimenting with different recipes.  I tried lots and lots.  Some they liked, some not so much.  We still gag at the strawberry muffins I made with coconut and almond flour.  Yuck!  They were plain awful.  I also let the kids make a request for items, and I would search for recipes that were comparable and easy (key word easy). The good news is the baking is actually much easier than baking the “traditional” way.

Find substitutes for favorites.  My kids loved granola.  We found a grain free recipe for granola that was super easy (Google and Pinterest have been my best friend).  My son loves toast, so I tried a few grain free bread recipes until I found the one that was easy and most affordable to make.

Last but not least,  remember time or deprivation, whatever you want to call it is on your side.  After awhile of not having pizza, I made one, and lo and behold they were thrilled and happy to eat it.  I once even heard, “Mom this is the best pizza you have ever made!”  Honestly I chuckled to myself and thought man deprivation does wonders!

Recipe:

1 Butternut Squash

High Heat Oil like Safflower, Canola, or Coconut

Salt & Pepper

Parchment paper (helps keep things crispier)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit. Peel the butternut squash and cut into circular disk first. Then slice each disk into fry like pieces.  Toss with a bit of oil, salt and pepper (add other herbs if you like).  Line baking tray with parchment and put fries in a single layer.  Bake for 20-25 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Starting Slow

    1. Thanks Kris! It really is about the small changes if you want to be successful I think. Especially when dealing with kiddos!

      Like

    1. Awesome! Let me know how they turn out. I have a great ketchup recipe, but I bet they would also be good with something creamy using mayo and yogurt and herbs and such! Love you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

