No Pasta? No Way!

iphone 195
Zucchini Noodles, First Try

A life without pasta, there was no way I could ever imagine or succumb to such nonsense.   In college, my routine was toast for breakfast, and seriously like a pound of pasta for dinner.  I’m not kidding or exaggerating, I swear! I don’t think I ate much in the middle of the day which is why I could put so much back.  But man oh man, could I put it back!

So how was I ever going to survive this new world?  Like a gift from God, as we were running out of the processed products in our cupboard, I found the secret.  An advertisement for this device that could make noodles out of vegetables appeared on the sidebar of my Facebook page.  Thank the Lord!  That was it.  The key to my success was placed right before my eyes.  I researched them, learned they were affordable, hopped on Amazon and bought myself the Paderno Vegetable Spiralizer.  Did I mention how much I love this thing? Whoever invented this tool was simply brilliant, kudos to them.

Since then, I have made everything from Zucchini noodles, to beet noodles, to cabbage noodles, to parsnip noodles, even butternut squash noodles.  I mean pasta is really about the savoriness of the dish for me.  The dishes you make with pasta are warm and comforting, and with the right added ingredients these noodles really, really work in the same way.

It’s not to say it’s the same.  I loved it right away, because well, I made it and was proud, therefore it tasted great.  And I knew it was good for me and my family.  The kids and the husband were a little more reluctant, but I was determined to get some veggies into my very picky carb loving son and this seemed like as good a way as any.  Veggie noodles topped with some good meaty (or not so meaty if you like) spaghetti sauce, what a sneaky way to get him on a better track, right?  I thought I could trick my kids and they wouldn’t notice.  They did notice and it took some encouragement.  One way I got them to buy in was by letting them help make the noodles.  It’s seriously so easy a preschooler can do it!  It also took persistence on my part, but we have survived and no longer crave or even think about pasta. Whoever would have thought!

Leave a Reply

