Cabbage Noodle Stirfry

iphone 848

My husband, who is quite possibly the hardest eater to please in our family, absolutely loved this one.  I was hankering for an Asian inspired meal the other night with noodles, and I thought about what kind of noodle would work best.  Cabbage seemed like a good fit, and it was!  A version of this will now be in our weekly rotation for sure.

At the end of the night, as Erik and I were finishing dishes, he gave me the greatest compliment quite possibly ever.  He said and I quote, “You know Aims, there isn’t a meal you make, I don’t like.”  I won’t hold him to that of course, but man did we end on a good note with this one!

Recipe:

1 head of green cabbage (spiralized or sliced sort of thin if you don’t have the toy)

1/2 a head of red cabbage (spiralized or sliced thin)

2 cups of broccoli broken or cut into smaller pieces

About 4 mini yellow and red peppers (we get them at Costco)

1/2 an onion diced

2-4 cloves of garlic minced (or more depending on how much you love garlic)

1-2 teaspoons of minced ginger

3 tablespoons of sesame oil

2 tablespoons of Braggs gluten-free soy

2-3 breasts of grilled chicken sliced thin

Directions:   Heat your wok/large frying pan until hot, add 2 tablespoons of sesame oil.  Once oil is hot add garlic, onion, peppers, broccoli,  and ginger.  Cook for 3-5 minutes until onions are clear.  Add the cabbage noodles and let cook, stirring frequently.  I covered with the lid for a minute to get the noodles a little more tender because I thought the family would like them that way.  You can decide based on how you like them.  After a few minutes I tossed all items with the rest of the sesame oil and Braggs.  I topped with the grilled chicken.

Notes on Grilling the Chicken:  Eating whole foods like this can take a toll on your budget.  We use the breasts frozen from the big bags at Costco.  I’d love to only buy organic, but we do the best we can with the budget we have.   Anywho, we brush the frozen chicken with a high heat oil and season with salt and pepper.  Super easy.  Those spices and rubs you buy at the store often have preservatives or other unknown ingredients, so if you can stay away!

Note: For my son, I pull some out before I add the Braggs because soy based products are an irritant.  If you have a GAPS  (Gut and Psychology Syndrome) kid, you can easily omit!

2 thoughts on “Cabbage Noodle Stirfry

Leave a Reply

