Meat and “Potatoes”

dinner
Whole Roasted Horribly Carved Chicken, Roasted Carrot Sticks, and Sauteed Garlic Green Beans (Scroll Down for Recipe)

 

Do you ever draw a blank slate when thinking about what to cook for you or your loved ones? I remember when we used to eat grains, I was always thinking, how many different pasta dishes can I really come up with? Or how can I spice up this rice to make it more exciting? Most nights we were eating one or the other except for the occasional potato.   But it was all so boring after a while.

Thankfully, this “new” way  of caring for my family, has forced me to think outside the box a bit, and do a heck of a lot of research.  That being said, I am no chef, or voodoo doctor (for lack of a better word and for humor).  All my meals aren’t perfect; the kids don’t scarf them down every night without complaining (they are pretty good a year in minus our break), and I’m not always consistent with the texture of my “noodles”, “rice”, or “potatoes”. Sometimes my crew will resist the essential oils we use, or cause a big stink about our values in regards to health and wellness. That being said, I have learned I can make a change for the better by being consistent and getting creative in my kitchen.

For example, my husband is a real meat and potatoes guy, and for my kiddo right now the starchy potatoes are a hindrance to his healing. I’ve had to figure out a slew of different substitutes for a potato in order to keep everyone calm around here. Tonight, I kept it pretty simple. We had roasted chicken, roasted carrots (my latest duh/creative moment), and sautéed garlic green beans.

Tip: A crock pot is an easy way to roast the chicken if you are going to be short on time.  I didn’t do that tonight.  I’ve learned if you line the crock pot with aluminum foil bunched up to create a drain for the juices the chicken can crisp up a bit.  I bet you could use onions or other veggies to create a drain too, but I haven’t tried that one yet.

So back to my  most recent, umm, creation, the roasted carrots.  They have been steadily gaining popularity.  Yay for me!  I personally like to cut them into sticks and roast them to resemble fries.  But that’s just me.  Honestly I could see dipping them in ketchup, but I haven’t tried it yet because I haven’t made ketchup in a while.  Thankfully, the kids have more or less forgotten about the mysterious thing we call ketchup, which makes my job easier. Hallelujah!

 

Recipes

Easy -Peasy Roasted Carrots

10-12 carrots or less if they are large

High Heat Oil

Salt &Pepper

Approx 1/2 tsp of dried or  1 tsp of fresh Dill

Parchment Paper

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees. Slice the carrots into sticks so they are fairly thin.  I usually cut them in half first and cut each half into fourths.  Toss them in a couple of tablespoons of oil, and sprinkle with salt and pepper and whatever dried or fresh herbs you have that sound good.  You could use Thyme, Sage, or Rosemary too.  The good thing is you can go liberal on the salt, because eliminating processed foods can really decrease your salt intake.    Roast for about 20 minutes.  If I am going for more of a fry like texture (which I did not tonight), I cook them a little longer to crisp them up.

Simple Sautéed Garlic Green Beans

1 lb or so of green beans (honestly I eyeball it so I’m guessing)

1/4 cup of broth or water

2-3 or more cloves of garlic

2 tablespoons of coconut oil

Salt & pepper to taste

Heat oil over medium heat until melted.  Add green beans and let cook for about 3-4 minutes.  Add Salt and Pepper.  Cook them until they begin to brown.  At this point I taste, add a touch of broth, and cover to get desired tenderness.  I like to add the garlic at the end and cook for just a minute or two.  That’s my personal preference.  I think you get more of a garlic flavor this way.

All in all this was a crowd-pleaser for us and I hope it can be for you too.

 

2 thoughts on “Meat and “Potatoes”

  1. Aimee; I am so proud of you and happy to read everything here! You are an accomplished and skilled cook and caretaker for the family and are always trying new ways to nurture them! Xxoo Louise

    Like

Leave a Reply

