Pizza! Pizza!

10398678_10205507459779464_6787109013923005242_n
Grainfree Italian Sausage and Veggie Pizza

Who doesn’t love pizza?  This one is a must have in our weekly rotation.  Typically Friday is pizza-movie night at our house, and when we first transitioned into eating a whole foods-based diet, I thought how will my son survive?  Up to this point it was the one meal each week I could guarantee he would eat, and eat lots (historically he was a most picky eater).  Sadly, I came to the conclusion that we couldn’t survive.  I’m not sure if it was him not surviving the lack of pizza, or me not surviving the storm that would ensue with me announcing there would be no pizza.  Either which way, I got busy and I got creative. And the end result isn’t so sad or bad, as a matter of fact it’s great!

Up until recently I was making a coconut flour crust pizza and it was pretty good, but the crust was certainly not ideal.  More recently I decided to try using almond flour instead, and I really like how it has been turning out and so do the kids.  It crisp up a little better and resembles a thin crust pie a bit more.

Anyway, without further ado, the recipe:

Crust:

1 3/4 cup of almond flour

1/4 cup of milled flax-seed

2 eggs

2 tablespoons of high heat oil like safflower or liquid coconut oil

1/4 to 1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp of onion powder

1/4 tsp of garlic powder

1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper

1/4 tsp of oregano or 1/2 drop of Doterra oregano oil (purchase at mydoterra.com/aimeeschrank).  You could really use any Italian seasonings you have on hand, be creative and use what you have!

Preheat oven to 375.  Mix all the ingredients in a medium bowl.  I use my hand to shape in a ball.  Place dough ball on one lightly oiled piece of parchment paper.  Lightly oil and place a second piece on top.  Roll out until very thin.  Maybe 1/8 inch thick. Remove top parchment paper, and slide bottom one with dough onto the pan.  Bake for about 10-15 minutes or until slightly browned.  Remove from the oven and let cool while chopping veggies.  Dress the pizza with your favorite toppings and return to oven for another 10-15 minute.  Let cool for 2 minutes, cut, and enjoy!

Toppings:

1/2 cup of pizza sauce.  Tonight I used Muir Glen’s organic store-bought (sometimes I make my own and freeze but sometimes I “cheat” with items that have minimal and acceptable ingredients that I recognize)

1/2 lb of pork browned with salt, pepper, oregano, crushed red pepper, paprika.  I buy the plain and add my own spices, because the pre-spiced have, you guessed it, sugar….

1/4 red pepper diced small

1/4 yellow pepper diced small

3 mushrooms diced small

2 cloves of garlic minced

1 cup of grated Colby Jack cheese

Tips:  Use whatever toppings you like or have.  We don’t use pepperoni anymore because I cannot find one that has ingredients that I feel comfortable with, even the Applegate-brand pepperoni has sugar (sigh).  Also I like using the pans that have holes in the bottom for a crisper crust, but any pizza pan will do just fine.  One last tip, the key to making your own pizza is not too much sauce or your dough will be soggy, and dice the items small and spread out.  I spread everything all the way to the edge so we can enjoy every last bite.  Also if you use the oregano oil, be very careful.  Use it sparingly, as it is very hot.  A very little goes a long way!

I hope you enjoy.  Let me know how it turns out if you give it a try.

Leave a Reply

