Grain Free Granola Goodness

11057367_1598724553675655_2788364021448320340_n (1)
Grainfree granola goodness

 

Are you a morning person?   I’m most definitely not a morning person.  Never have been, probably never will be.  Although I have prayed for divine intervention, so far it’s a no go, but there’s still hope.  Ideally I’d rather not be spoken to or disturbed until I’ve had some time with my tea. Considering I have two children that is a far cry from my reality.  In fact many of days I come home from work only to find my tea 3/4 full sitting in the microwave, and most mornings this isn’t the first time I’ve microwaved it. Sound familiar?

Needless to say getting my kids a healthy breakfast has always been challenge enough; when we eliminated processed foods, the challenge seemed insurmountable.  At first I was able to feed everyone eggs, day in and day out.  We did them fried in coconut oil, fried in butter, over medium, over easy, scrambled.  Eventually the kids protested and I was no longer allowed to make eggs.  So, I moved on to smoothies.  But alas one can only have so many smoothies.

I started longing for cereal.  Quick and easy, feed ’em and go, those were the days I was longing for?  It became essential for my sanity to figure something out, so I started making a raw granola where I literally just pulsed some almonds, pecans, pumpkin seeds and raisins in a blender and ate.  This worked for me, but the kids wanted something more traditional like their old pastime favorite granola, sweet and toasted a bit.  There are no oats in this one, and it’s relatively hassle free.  It takes a while to cook, but the prep is next to nothing.    Give it a try and let me know what you think!

Recipe:

1 cup of walnuts

1/2 cup of raw pecans

1 cup of raw almonds

1/2 cup of pumpkin seeds

1 1/2 tablespoons of flax seeds

1/2 cup of raisins

1/4 cup of honey (or more if you like it sweet)

2-3 tablespoons of melted coconut oil

1/2 cup of shredded coconut (optional)

3/4 tablespoon of cinnamon

1 tablespoon of  vanilla

Preheat oven to 225.  Add all the ingredients to the blender and pulse until it resembles a traditional granola.  I have a ninja, so I also give it a good stir with the spatula to make sure the coconut oil and honey are evenly spread.  Line a baking pan with parchment paper and spread the mix evenly over the pan.  Cook for 1 1/2 to 2 hours.  It’s done when it’s slightly toasted looking. Just FYI,  it will harden a bit as it cools.

I like to make a big batch of this over the weekend so I can put it in our weekly rotation and at least get that feed ’em and go feeling.  As for the total peace and quiet until my tea is done, I’m thinking it’ll be another 12 years or so!

On another note, the kids will eat eggs and smoothies again, among other things I’ve come up with. So, variety is my friend, and the need for it keeps me on my toes!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Grain Free Granola Goodness

Leave a Reply

