Delicious Grain Free Bread with Rosemary Oil from Doterra

10917385_10205320318101039_410672666279569155_n
Rosemary Almond- Flax Grain Free Bread

Doesn’t this sound like an oxymoron?  I mean really, who would want bread with out grains.  Well, I am here to tell you that the recipe by healyeatsreal.com  (you can find it here) is delicious.  It goes excellent with soups during autumn and winter, and also as a substitute for traditional toast and eggs.  If my son wasn’t such a toast lover, I wouldn’t have thought to search for such a recipe.  But I’m glad we did.  This is such an easy addition to breakfast and lunch, or can be used as a great snack.  We usually have a piece or two everyday.  It might be in sandwich form, or just as toast slathered with butter, either way I love the convenience of having this around, and it has great texture, taste, and is fairly economical to make compared to other recipes I’ve tried.  A lot of recipes I’ve tried used almond butter which is ridiculously expensive to use in such large quantities.  I’m totally fine with using it a tablespoon at a time, but seriously a cup?  No way; then you have like an $11 loaf of bread or more! Crazy!

If you’re just getting started or making small changes to your diet, this is a great recipe to get under your belt.  I recommend trying this right away, especially if you have kids, because of the convenience it offers.  I like to make a loaf on Sundays in preparation for the week.  It is seriously so easy.  I’ve made a lot of bread in my life and this one is fail proof.  My nine year old can make it all on her own now, can you say score! I’ll give you a moment to picture me doing a little victory dance here…

A couple of tips for you before you get started:

  • Use parchment paper to line the bread pan, otherwise it will turn a greenish color (not really sure I get the science on this one).
  • I personally omit the honey, I see no need
  • I add a full teaspoon of apple cider vinegar, and baking soda.  I did this initially to see if it would rise more, but I am not really sure it makes that much of a difference
  • Add a drop of Doterra rosemary oil, if you wanted to experiment with Oregano that might be good, but be careful and maybe use a toothpick to dip and stir (a little goes a very long way).
  • This makes a short loaf, it won’t be big and fluffy and a full size piece, more like a half a piece.  I make 2 mini sandwiches when I send them for lunch with the kids
  • I wrap it in a paper towel and store in the fridge, not sure why, but it seems to last longer.

rosemary

You can find more information about the benefits of Rosemary Oil here.

If you would like to know more about Doterra essential oils or the business please contact me, and may our kitchens become a little less processed one step at a time!

Leave a Reply

