Butternut Squash Noodles with Shrimp and Marinara Sauce

11070201_1599336836947760_6013502484159506873_n
Butternut Squash Pasta with Shrimp and Marinara Sauce.

 

Looks delicious, don’t you think?  My picture of this meal is getting lots of hype (for which I am so full of gratitude), so I thought before I head off to buy more groceries (it’s that time and my fridge is super empty), I ought to get the recipe out there for those who might need it.

fridge
My “high time to get my rear in gear fridge” ; I made it a full week without going to get groceries though.

 

This is super easy, if you have a Paderno Vegetable Spiralizer.  It took me about 45 minutes from start to finish and most of that was peeling the darn squash.  I used three of them!

The trick with spiralizing butternut squash is only using the stem.  The bulbous part won’t spiralize because it is more or less hollow in the middle (check out this great video by Ali over at inspiralized.com).   You need to look for a squash that has a nice long neck.  I used three this last time, because the necks were rather short.  I save the bulbous part for making Butternut Squash Fries, or I cut and freeze and use for making broth.

Recipe:

1-3 Butternut Squash (depends on the size of the neck/stem)

3 cloves of garlic

1/2 small onion diced

20-25 thawed shrimp (I like to use the pre-cooked from Costco, they are in the frozen section)

1 1/2 cups of grated Pecorino Romano

1 jar of marinara sauce that contains only whole ingredients and no sugar (I like to make mine, but I keep these around for when I sub a lot or otherwise don’t have the time).

photo 2 (1) photo

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees. Spiralize your squash.  Line a large baking pan with parchment paper and roast for 10-12 minutes.  In the meantime, saute garlic and onions until onions run clear, add marinara, and shrimp until warm.  Pour sauce over the noodles.  Sprinkle with pecorino romano and enjoy the savory taste!  Seriously, we don’t miss pasta a bit with this in the house!

Written with hope from my unprocessed kitchen: changing the way we eat, one meal at a time. Let’s do this!

 

 

Leave a Reply

