Rutabaga Noodles with Tilapia and Sauteed Veggies

photo (1)
Rutabaga Noodles with Tilapia and Veggies

Do holidays ever sneak up on you?  Do you find yourself ill-prepared and lacking the spirit to make it happen?  Well, that was me this past weekend.  Literally between spring break and launching my blog and doTerra business I was fully caught off guard.  My daughter and I were at the market on the previous Saturday, and we saw egg dye.  She looks at me shocked and asked when Easter was.  My first thought was, tomorrow.  Total panic set in, but this is the price you pay for neglecting to attend church regularly.  Of course, I rushed to check the calendar when I got home.  Whew, I had a week to go.  Hello, Grace!

That’s good and all, but I forgot AGAIN, as I was meal planning for the week (for more tips on meal planning check out my previous blog here).  I bought groceries for the various meals I had planned, but I forgot to plan something special for Easter.  As I mentioned in a previous blog, I take it as my personal challenge to only shop once a week; I was going to have to make due.  I rearranged a few things, and this is the meal I created.  It turned out to be a real treat, and certainly helped us to feel as much of a sense of celebration as you can without extended family around!

Recipe:

2 large Rutabagas, or 4 small ones peeled with ends removed

½ onion diced

6 mushrooms sliced

½ red pepper diced

3 cloves of garlic diced

2 packed cups of greens

2 tablespoons of safflower oil or other high heat fractionated oil

2 tablespoons of coconut oil

4 pieces of tilapia

1 handful of fresh parsley

Preheat the oven to 400.  Prepare the fish.  I drizzle with oil, and then sprinkle with cumin, salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder, and then rub.  Next I spriralize the rutabaga. If you don’t own a Paderno Vegetable Spiralizer (click on the bold print to check it out), I highly recommend it!  You want to peel them first, and then cut off each end, and use the blade with the larger holes.  Place the noodles on a parchment lined baking tray, drizzle with oil, salt and pepper, and roast for about 20 minutes.  In the meantime, you can sauté your veggies in the coconut oil, and fry your fish.  For the tilapia I have found about 4 minutes on each side.  But it will depend on the size fish you buy.  Once the noodles are done, add them to the pan with the sautéed veggies and give a toss.  Place cooked tilapia on top, garnish with fresh parsley and enjoy!

Tip: if you don’t have a spiralizer I have found that peeling your veggies and dicing them into 1 inch pieces (like the size of a homefry) works just as well.  Just remember, the larger the pieces, the longer the roasting time.

Leave a Reply

