Rosemary Flax Crackers/ Flat Bread- Cooking with Doterra

10330445_1602439159970861_3760503451745683735_n
Rosemary Flax Crackers/ Flat Bread- Grainfree

 

Crackers are so convenient and such a great vehicle for cheese, spreads and dips.  They are such a quick and cheap filler for a lunch or an easy addition to a party platter.  A must have, don’t you agree?

So, I was really feeling empowered, I mean desperate, the first time I embarked upon making my own crackers.  Lucky for me, when I looked into making my own, I discovered that they are really quite easy to make.  I’ll be honest this is key for any recipe I try.  When I  decide I need to make something that we are missing from our previous diet, I will read grain free recipes and the first thing I do is decide if it is easy enough for someone like me. If it is, I’ll take a stab at it. If not, I move on until I find something that looks easy.  That’s just the way I roll.

So I made these crackers from clean, green, simple (click on the bold for the link) yesterday to take to a party.  I added one drop of doTerra’s Rosemary oil; you could also add dried Rosemary if you don’t have the oil.  Mine turned out a little more like a flat bread, as I don’t think I rolled the dough thin enough. They were closer to 1/4 of an inch thick instead of 1/8.  I’m sure they would have been more cracker like if I had been able to roll it out thinner.  Next time!

Thank goodness, it wasn’t a total loss though.  The flavor was all there, just the crispiness of a “traditional” cracker was missing.  The good news is I actually love it this way and will use it as a flat bread for sandwiches from time to time, plus it was so easy.  Did I mention I like easy?

Do you have a favorite grain-free cracker recipe?  What do you look for when trying a new recipe? I’d love to hear from you! And as always, may our kitchens become a little less processed one meal at a time!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

