Essential Oil Blend of the Week: Digestzen

11024606_1603384939876283_3427662974576726131_n

Do you ever get uncomfortably full, or suffer from constipation or other irregularities in the bathroom (Crohn’s disease, colitis, or IBS)?  Do you or a child of yours suffer from motion sickness, or morning sickness (congrats by the way!)?  Or do you get other gastrointestinal viruses or bugs from time to time? If you said no to the last one, please leave a comment with all your secrets; I am dying to know, and will hand over my blog now!

Sorry if it’s too much info, but in our family I can safely say that between all four of us we cover the gamut.  And this week has been extra special as my littlest ragamuffin has had to battle with the last aforementioned condition…. Which is precisely why I am going with Digestzen as my oil of the week!  We’ve gotten lots of good extra use out of it, unfortunately!

Digestzen is an essential oil blend known for its ability to aid in digestion, calm upset tummies, and maintain overall gut health.  The blend contains Ginger, Fennel, Coriander (which target stomach discomfort), as well as, Peppermint, Taragon, Caraway and Anise (which target proper digestion and overall gut health).

Since being introduced to the GAPS (Gut and Psychology Syndrome) theory, I firmly believe in the theory that our overall gut health is crucial in maintaining our over all health, not just physical but mental as well.  For us, Digestzen accompanied with a daily probiotic are essential in our journey for health and wellness.  Especially for my little man.  If the root of his learning problems is due to an inability to process essential nutrients in food, then surely this will aid in the healing process.

Either which way, what I can say, is that we are overall a healthier bunch since changing our diet, and adding probiotics and Digestzen to our daily regime.  I also love having the tools (all the other essential oils)  to treat our symptoms naturally when we do fall short of the picture of perfect health. And yes, we still get sick, but it is definitely less often and I know what to use to comfort us naturally through those times.   Unfortunately  our slugger still gets hit pretty hard and fairly often, but his gut seems to be more compromised than the rest of us, which is precisely how I got myself into this mess  in the first place (it’s a lovely mess).  I imagine it’ll take the most time for him to heal, but we are going to ride this one out, because that’s what you do for your children, plus we all benefit.

I have to say if you are new to essential oils, I do think Digestzen is a must have outside of our Lemon, Peppermint, and Lavender.  You can use it topically, or take it internally (my go to application for little ones is the soles of their feet).  I personally haven’t taken it internally, but I am not a fan of fennel or anise, so it would probably make me gag!

Thanks for listening and let me know if I can help you get started with this blend, or any other oils, or wellness products like our probiotic in an effort to achieve a healthier you! And as always, may our kitchens (or medicine cabinets), become a little less processed one day at a time.  OK, well that’s not what I always say but it sounds better!

Leave a Reply

