Banana Coconut Ice Cream

 

11173341_1604582333089877_1975947330793911750_n
Super Simple Banana Coconut “Ice-cream”-zero sweetners

 

So what is a birthday without birthday treats?  Or what is a celebration without something sweet?  Well, I am here to tell you just because you are grain free, sugar-free, and can’t eat uncultured dairy, it by no means should be equated with suffering!  Really. I’m serious…

We celebrated my son’s 7th birthday yesterday and I really wanted to make it special for him, and I also really wanted him to feel excited about the treats he got. Being a school day and his birthday, I also had to be that mom to brave bringing in a healthy alternative to your traditional sugar laden treats. I gave him a few choices and together we came up with this:

11149406_1603989943149116_7949272220008906977_n

The fresh strawberries were one of my suggestions.  The balsamic vinegar was his idea, bet you thought it was the other way around, huh?!  I was a little nervous no one would like it, and my son would be disappointed, but all in all it went over well.  The only shocker for me was when 2 kids asked where the sugar was to go with the strawberries.  Really people?!  Shockingly though, every kid tried the vinegar and most were quite pleased.  Score for us!  The most important score though was the fact that my son was happy and seemed proud.

So then came the next challenge of the day.  A birthday means birthday candles.  I had to make something he would love, something that was easy (I worked all day), and something that would hold a candle!  I chose ice-cream….

Are you laughing yet?  So, here’s the deal.  Yes, he loved it, yes it was easy, and no it did not hold the candle!  2 out of 3; I’ll take it!

Recipe:

3 frozen bananas

1 cup of full fat coconut milk

A few tablespoons of grain free granola (click on the bold for the link; not nut free though)

Place 3 frozen bananas in the blender, add 3/4 cup of coconut milk and blend until creamy like ice-cream, 1-2 minutes.  Add more coconut milk if needed. Sprinkle with grain free granola and enjoy!

This and peppermint tea popsicles are our go-to summer-time treats. Hope you enjoy. And as always, may our kitchens (and medicine cabinets) become a little less processed 1 day at a time!

Leave a Reply

