Cabbage Noodle Stir-Fry with Shrimp and “Peanut Sauce”

11148460_1603989123149198_3833674281371694291_n
Cabbage Noodle Stir-Fry with Shrimp and “Peanut-Sauce”

I love cabbage noodles.  They are cheap and easy to make, and they really take on the flavor of what you make.  The texture really compares to a rice noodle in my opinion, which makes them such a great base for Asian flavored dishes, although we’ve even used them as a base for traditional spaghetti as well.  I think of all the veggie noodles I make, these are the favored in my household.  In fact the other night I got a cheer for this dish.

I know I gloat a lot about the children and hubby liking what I make, but we have come so far. When I first started transitioning our diets, the complaining was endless.  The kids would ask in the morning what we were having for dinner, and instantly moan and groan.  They’d come home from school, and start in, “mom, do we have to have that for dinner.” I had to develop some thick skin, but I also got smart.  When they started asking what was for breakfast, lunch, or dinner, my response became “food, dear”.  Really, that’s all they needed to know. Honestly sometimes I would lie too.  I would tell them we were having potatoes when really we were having butternut squash disguised as home-fries.

Seriously it was tough, but I held my ground, and now they are such good adventurous eaters, most of the time… They don’t complain, but the cheering is still pretty rare, so that my friends, is why I gloat!

Recipe:

1 head of green cabbage-spiralized or sliced thin ( if you don’t own a Paderno Vegetable Spiralizer already, I highly recommend; you can click on the bold print to view and purchase one)

1 head of red cabbage-spiralized or sliced thin

3 cloves of minced garlic

1/2 an onion diced

5 diced sweet mini peppers

3 small carrots diced

5-7 mushrooms diced (I have to cut them really small so my family doesn’t know they are there.  They think they don’t like them)

2 tablespoons of sesame oil

1/4 cup of broth/stock

1 lb of thawed shrimp (I buy the precooked frozen stuff at Costco and just add at the end, this cuts my cooking time, at least I tell myself that)

Heat wok and add sesame oil.  Saute the carrots, onion, peppers, mushrooms until onions run clear.  Add garlic and cook for about 1 minute more.  You could remove these first and then cook cabbage noodles and re-add them when the noodles are done.  I just added the noodles on top, because it is one less dish to wash, and no one seemed to mind, the carrots were a little more tender than a traditional stir fry. Just note it f you just add the noodles to the top like I did,  it will take some time for them to cook down until you can really stir things up.  I added a little broth and covered to quicken the process.  Once you can really stir things around, add the thawed shrimp and cook until warm.  Make sure when plating to use tongs, this way you can give the cabbage noodles a good shake to remove any excess liquid, this wasn’t a problem for us, but I know it can be.

For the “Peanut Sauce”- I adapted this recipe from a great Peanut Sauce recipe in a Vegan cookbook I love called, The Peaceful Palate.

1/2 cup of almond butter

1 cup of hot water

2 tablespoons of coconut aminos (or Braggs if you are not paleo)

1 1/2 tablespoons of ACV (apple cider vinegar)

1 tablespoon of honey

1 tsp of garlic powder

1/2 tsp of ginger powder

a pinch of cayenne

Whisk all ingredients together in a medium saucepan.  Heat gently until slightly thickened.  This takes about 10 minutes, but I like it pretty thick.  Drizzle over plated dish and enjoy!

I feel like you can really tell with this one, that I am no chef.  I have fun creating, but I don’t follow specific rules, when it comes to sauteing and such.  In the end, my family loved it, plus I got them to eat 2 heads of cabbage in one sitting, and those are the things that matter most to me.  Bu,t if you have any tips please feel free to leave them in the comments!  And as always, may our kitchens (and medicine cabinets) become a little less processed one day at a time!

Leave a Reply

