Kale Chips-Salty, Crunchy, and Healthy

11149449_1607159792832131_6427093421147347796_n
Crunchy Salty Kale Chips

I’m a sucker for salty snacks.  As a matter of fact, I literally have never been able to purchase chips to have in the house, because I have zero self-control.  I mean zero. I absent-mindedly find myself going back to the bag, time after, time after time.  Not even realizing what I am doing.  Sound familiar?

Thank goodness for my dehydrator, as I can now make chips and guiltlessly eat away.  We love zucchini chips, carrot chips, and Kale chips, banana chips, apple chips, and looking forward to trying some beet chips in the near future.

As you all probably know by now Kale is a great superfood.  It is one of those foods that are so nutrient rich they are considered to be especially beneficial to our health.  Here’s the low down on Kale

  • it’s high in iron
  • it’s contains lots of Vitamin K
  • high in antioxidants
  • it’s anti inflammatory in nature
  • contains lots of vitamin A
  • Can help to lower cholesterol
  • high in vitamin C
  • high in calcium
  • helps with detox
  • high in fiber

So, when I need that salty crunchy fix, Kale chips are an awesome fit.  I mean you toss them with olive oil, salt and pepper if you like, and dehydrate until crisp.  You get to devour as much as you like (or have if your like me) without the guilt.

I’ll be honest here.  My kids only secretly like them.  They don’t want me to send them with their lunch, because the other kids say yuck.  I’ve encouraged them to stay strong, but sadly our food choices really stand out in the cafeteria setting, so for now I’ve chosen to cut them some slack…

Recipe:

1 large bunch of Kale, stem removed

1/4 cup of olive oil

1 tsp of salt

1/2 tsp of black pepper

Tear the kale leaves into bite size pieces.  Toss in a bowl with olive oil, salt and pepper.  I toss them really good, kind of massaging the oil into the leaves.  Place them in your dehydrator trays and dehydrate for approx 4 hrs.  Alternatively if you don’t have a dehydrator, you can do them on the oven.  Click on the bold print for an oven baked recipe.  Store in an air tight container and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

