Meet Oregano, My Miracle Oil

17800_10205712734391201_5209687921852497919_n

I remember the first time I heard someone reference Oregano oil to help with an infection, I thought, “yeah that’s nice, but who has that, and where in the world would you get it?”  Well, I was elated when I ordered my family physicians kit (a great starter kit, contact me if you want to purchase it at a reduced price), and it was included. I’ve been able to use it and experience its amazing benefits.

Oregano oil is one of the most powerful and most potent essential oils out there, and its uses are vast, but it must be used with caution.  You always want to use a carrier oil (fractionated coconut or olive oil are my favorites) when applying topically, or it can cause extreme skin irritation.  When inhaling or diffusing only use 1 drop due to the high phenol content. If taking internally dilute it; I would recommend taking it in a capsule (it doesn’t taste great), and use it sparingly.  I added 1 drop to my carrot juice this morning, and wow, it was super strong and hot!  I’ve read you never want to take it internally for more than 10 days, as it can begin killing off the good gut flora as well.  If you use it to help with a virus or bug of sorts and you use it for consecutive days, it would probably be ideal to follow-up with a probiotic like PB assist (for a reduced rate contact me first).

According to my Modern Essentials app, oregano oil is known for the following properties:

  • anti-bacterial
  • anti-fungal
  • anti-parasitic
  • antiseptic to the respiratory system
  • anti-viral
  • immune stimulant

So far we have been using it to aid in fighting viruses and other illnesses, as well as an immune stimulant.  Up until today the only way I have used it was applying topically on the soles of our feet.  I also recently learned that it contributes to healthy digestion by encouraging the secretion of digestive juices.  I imagine this will be something we try for future issues of constipation.

I love using oregano oil in cooking as well.  We like to add a drop to our Italian sauces, as well as to our pizza crust, and bread. I haven’t made much Greek food or soups lately, but I bet that would be good too.  Just a word to the wise, I have found a drop is all you will ever need!

Other recommended uses for oregano oil according to my Modern Essentials app include but are not limited to the following:

  • Athletes foot
  • Calluses
  • Candida
  • Canker Sores
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Fungal Infections
  • Immune booster
  • Inflammation
  • Intestinal parasites
  • Warts
  • Whooping Cough
  • Staph Infections
  • Lice

The web is full of information on Oregano oil, so before you get started, I recommend doing a little research and making sure you feel fully informed.  Here are a few articles to help you get started:

This is such a great oil to have around, especially during cold and flu season.  I’d love to get you started on your essential oils journey, so please contact me for more information on the best way to purchase oils or check out my website at mydoterra.com/aimeeschrank for an overview.  And as always, may our kitchens (and medicine cabinets) become a little less processed one day at a time!

Leave a Reply

