Homemade No Bake Power Bars

Homemade No Bake Power Bars

When we first transitioned our diets, I made quite a bit of bars.  Lately I haven’t been so interested, despite the incessant begging from the kids.  Last week, was tough and I got a little run down trying to keep up with everything, so this week I am trying to be the girl-scout I never was.  Isn’t their motto something about being prepared?  Well either way I have made almond milk, grain-free bread, granola for breakfast, yogurt, got beef in the crock-pot for dinner, and decided to finally tackle the bars today.

I think I thought they were time-consuming or something, which is why I haven’t wanted to make them.  However, after making them today, I remember they are so darn easy! In fact, I think I’ll teach my nine-year old how to make them and she can take over the bar scene.  I’ve got her on the bread these days, and she likes making muffins when I feel like sharing the kitchen with her, so things are looking up!

Recipe:

1/2 cup of almonds

1/2 cup of pumpkin seeds

1/2 cup of pecans

1 cup of walnuts

3/4 cup of raisins

1 3/4 cup of shredded coconut

1/3 cup of coconut oil- melted

1/3 cup of raw honey

1/4 tsp of salt

1/2 tsp of vanilla

1/2-1 tsp of cinnamon

I add all the dry ingredients (nuts, seeds, raisins, coconut, cinnamon) into the high speed blender and pulse until chopped fairly fine.  Then I melt the coconut oil, stir in the honey and vanilla and pour over the cinnamon nut mixture.  I stir by hand to ensure the liquid is well distributed and to not chop the nuts and raisins further. Line a baking dish with parchment and press firmly into the dish.  Cover and chill for several hours.  Once hard, cut into bars.

A couple tips:  I don’t like to heat the honey too much so I stir it in after the coconut oil is melted to avoid damaging it’s nutrients.  I also like to wrap mine individually after I cut them so they are ready to go.  I keep them in the fridge because at room temp, they start to loosen a bit.  But, I have traveled with them and they taste just fine, they just a crumple a little more easily after being removed from the fridge for a few hours.  If sending them to school, just make sure to have an ice-pack in the lunch box.

I hope you and your family get a chance to try these, because they really are divine and packed with protein, good for you fat, and other great nutrients!  Let me know if you do, and as always, may our kitchens (and medicine cabinets) become a little less processed one day at a time!

Leave a Reply

