Cauliflower Pizza Crust

10957213_1610281992519911_403211180469100196_n
Cauliflower Pizza Crust

I’ve heard about this idea for years, and I never wanted to try it because I assumed it would be to time consuming for my taste.  Have you ever noticed how much I use the word easy in my blogs?  I like to keep things simple and easy, because while I love food and I love cooking, there are other things I love to do too!  And plus, if I’m going to spend time on something it needs to be easy because I want to ensure it is edible.  I mean, I can’t stand to waste food. If you know my dad, you’ll know where I get that from.  He’s been known to eat things beyond recognition in an effort not to waste!  I’m not quite that extreme, but I get it from him honestly.

So here’s the truth about this crust.  It is a little bit more labor intensive than the almond flour crust I usually make.  But the good news is, it is far less labor intensive than making your own traditional crust from scratch.  And, there is so much to love about it that it makes it worthwhile.

What I love about this crust is that it folds like a traditional New York slice, and that is a win, especially since my husband is from up-state.  And then there is the flavor; oh my goodness the flavor!  This crust is packed full of savory flavor.  With the almond flour crust, I feel like it is just a vehicle for the toppings.  It’s really the toppings that deliver the flavor for that, but the cauliflower crust is packed with a mouth-watering flavor unto itself.

So all in all, if you have the time, this is well worth the investment.  You won’t be disappointed.

Here’s what you’ll need

  • 2 smallish heads of cauliflower
  • 1/2 cup of fresh chopped parsley
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 tsp of onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp of garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste

Here’s what I did:

  • Preheated oven to 400
  • Steamed the cauliflower until tender.
  • Pulsed the steamed cauliflower in my ninja in two separate batches.
  • Poured the riced cauliflower into my nut-milk bag (you can purchase one here)
  • let cool
  • squeezed the living daylights out of  it to remove excess water
  • dumped into mixing bowl
  • added spices and eggs (you could add 1 drop of doTerra Rosemary or Oregano if you like cooking with essential oils)
  • mixed thoroughly
  • lined baking tray with parchment paper
  • transferred dough to pan and spread evenly until about 1/8 inch thick (You really have to use your hands to pat it out to the edges).

10422437_10205762297710253_3661989151384510281_n

  • baked it for 30-35 minutes
  • add toppings (I used minimal sauce, basil, tomatoes, and fresh mozzarella)
  • bake for another 10-15 minutes; enjoy!

Seriously, I had no idea how much I would like it.  Cauliflower for crust sounded so weird to me at first, but now I totally get it.  I get why people talk about it.  Go ahead, give it a try, and let me know what you think!

And, as always may our kitchens (and medicine cabinets) become a little less processed 1 day at a time!

Leave a Reply

