Mushroom, Pepper, and Cilantro Egg Muffins

11210472_1611508959063881_499695699219520936_n
Mushroom, Cilantro, and Pepper Egg Muffins

My intentions when I started this blog, were to write every day.  I did pretty good for the first 40 days or so, and now, not so much.  It’s a good thing though for me, as the reason I haven’t posted is that my doTerra business is growing and I am spending most of my free time managing that.  I love writing my blog, but I love communicating with people in person, and I love sharing the power of the oils with others, as well as the nature of the business.  So, doing that has taken priority.  But who has the time to read a blog every single day, right?

Because I am so much busier, I have been trying to find ways to cook a little less.  I decided to give egg muffins a try.  I’ve seen pics of these here and there for months, and have never given them a shot, until today.  I like the idea of being able to reheat and serve in the morning as sort of a grab and go breakfast.  I made 12 muffins, and imagine they will serve as breakfast for the next few days.  Brilliant, right?

The verdict is, they turned out pretty good.  They were a little dry, but I think next time I will top with some salsa and a dollop of homemade yogurt (we use this instead of sour cream but eliminate the lemon and honey) to compensate.  I could also see topping them with a little homemade ketchup, but maybe that’s just me.  I really prefer fried eggs (probably why I didn’t try these until now, but will eat scrambled as long as there’s ketchup available (must be the kid in me) and these texturally remind me of scrambled!

When you are ready to give these a try, you’ll need the following:

a greased muffin pan

an assortment of finely chopped veggies of your choice.  I used mushrooms, peppers, and cilantro.

11 large eggs

homemade yogurt, homemade salsa, or homemade ketchup

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place your finely chopped assorted veggies (about a T total into the greased muffin tin, or into muffin tin liners (I didn’t have these this time, but I think they make life so much easier).  Scramble the eggs in a separate bowl and pour or spoon over the assorted veggies.  Bake for 15 minutes.  Now if that’s not easy, I don’t know what is!

Hope you enjoy and may our kitchens (and medicine cabinets) become a little less processed one day at a time!

One thought on “Mushroom, Pepper, and Cilantro Egg Muffins

Leave a comment