Rutabaga Noodles with Pancetta, Mushrooms, Navy Beans, and Green Beans

11207308_1611590199055757_7588317047092601244_n
Rutabaga Noodles with Pancetta, Navy Beans, Green Beans, and Mushrooms

This dinner was a real winner according to my husband and I. We absolutely loved the flavors and how they came together with the edginess of the rutabaga noodles.

As for the kids, the story has a different outcome. I really pushed the boundaries with this one. They got it down, but it was not a bargainless night at the dinner table for the adults in the room. Thank goodness my husband and I were the only adults in the room, because I can only imagine the level of dysfunction and judgement that would have been witnessed and passed by an innocent bystander! But in the end I think I was the winner, because they ate it. Right, that makes me the winner? Or maybe they were the winner because they made me crazy and I left the table feeling like it was more work for me to get them to eat it than it was for me to cook it! I’ll confess, I may have filled my wine more than once during the bargaining process.

All that said this does not mean you shouldn’t give this a go! It really was delicious. But take it from me, if you do make it, get a nice bottle of red wine, put on some Jazz, and ensure the kids have sleepovers!

Recipe:
3 large rutabagas spiralized with the Paderno Vegetable Spiralizer (use blade with the smaller holes)
2 cups cooked of navy beans
1 cup of chopped mushrooms (I have to chop them small because my family thinks they don’t like them, otherwise I would say sliced)
1/2 onion diced
2-3 cloves of garlic minced
4-5 slices of Applegate Farms Pancetta sliced into strips
2 cups of steamed green beans
2-3 T of butter
1/4-1/2 cup of chicken broth
salt and pepper to taste
a pinch or two of crushed red pepper

Melt your butter over medium heat in a large pot. Add onion, mushrooms and cook until onions run clear. Add garlic and cook for 30 more seconds. Add pancetta and cook for about 1 more minute, then add navy beans and green beans; stir until combined. Add spiralized rutabaga noodles and stir to combine and distribute veggies and navy beans throughout the noodles. I wanted to cook the noodles down a bit so I added the broth at this point and covered for about 5-7 minutes stirring frequently. Once the noodles are tender to your liking, plate with tongs, and top with crushed red pepper if you like spice!

I really have very little technique when it comes to cooking as you can probably see in my recipe. I added the broth to cook the noodles down, because it seemed everything else would burn by the time all the noodles got tender, and I didn’t want that to happen. Now I realize I could have roasted the noodles and the combined with the veggies after, but I really like to keep things to one pot as much as I can, because man I hate washing dishes! Someday I could probably stand to learn some technique, but for now what I am doing is working, so I’m content.

Well, I hope you feel inspired to try this sans kids, and as always, may our kitchens (and medicine cabinets) become a little less processed one day at a time!

One thought on “Rutabaga Noodles with Pancetta, Mushrooms, Navy Beans, and Green Beans

Leave a Reply

