Zucchini Noodles with Ground Bison, Marinara, Olives and Capers

11350643_1619306798284097_2777026895208555450_n
Zucchini Noodles with Ground Bison, Marinara, Olives and Capers

We are back from a whirlwind trip to the south for my baby sister’s wedding.  Being there and being surrounded by my massive family was so much fun.  Flying home at midnight only to have to shuffle everyone including myself out the door and resume non vacation life at 6am is well, a stark contrast.

Since returning (who am I kidding, since the week before we left!), I’ve been scrambling to keep up with the demands of 2 part time jobs, 1 seemingly full-time job of feeding and caring for my family, and then writing about feeding them and caring for them here.  If you follow me on Instagram or Facebook you’ll know I’m always a few days behind.  I post pictures pretty readily, but the recipe not so much!  Not to mention I took a little over a week off of everything while traveling.

Anywho, I feel like when life gets busy and hectic like it has been, I gravitate towards comfort foods more.  Can anyone else relate?  So Saturday afternoon/early eve I was fortunate to have the house to myself and was able to enjoy a glass of wine that then gave me a hankering for pasta.  Go figure!  This dish was just the comfort I needed.  It was hearty and savory and of course satisfying with the added touch of the ground bison.  Traditionally I love puttanesca, so that was my inspiration for the olives and capers!  So, here you have it.  Better late than never, right?

Recipe:

3 zucchinis spiralized (you can purchase the Paderno Vegetable Spiralizer here)

3 large cloves of garlic minced

1 cup of organic black olives sliced

1/4 cup or organic capers

1 jar of Natural Value marinara sauce (Homemade is best, but I use this when in a pinch.  It is one of the few that doesn’t have sugar added)

1 pound of ground bison

1 tablespoon of walnut oil (or other high-heat oil)

crushed red pepper to your liking (we like it spicy)

1 tiny drop of doTerra Oregano Oil (I ran out so didn’t add it this time, but it makes a great addition to hearty sauces like these, but remember it is super hot so use it ever so sparingly)

Brown the bison in an iron skillet over medium heat.  Add garlic and cook for a minute more, add olives, capers, crushed red pepper and marinara sauce.  Once heated through I reduce to a simmer.  Simmer for at least 30-45 minutes to allow flavors to meld. If adding doTerra Oregano Oil, now is the time.  I add it towards the end since heat can affect the properties of the oil.  While your sauce is simmering you can spiralize your zucchini and set aside. Once your sauce is done and has the flavor you like, pan fry the zucchini noodles in a tablespoon of walnut oil (or any other high-heat oil) for about 5 minutes.  I like to heat the noodles just enough to warm them, but not enough to change the texture or they get watery.

Spoon your noodles into your dish and top with the ground bison and marinara sauce, then pour a good sized glass of red wine to wash it down.  You’ll love this.  It’s quick, easy, comforting, and healthy!

Thanks for reading and as always, may our kitchens (and medicine cabinets) become a little less processed one day at a time!

Leave a Reply

