Grilled Sweet Potato Salad

10405341_1632987976915979_3919789992696641134_n
Grilled Sweet Potato Salad

As many of you know our family just drove from Montana to Upstate New York and back in 2 weeks time.  It was quite a trip.  I started off determined to keep us on track food wise.  I prepped the cooler with pre-made paleo-friendly bacon, yogurt, cheese, coconut water, carrots, sugar snap peas and berries.  I brought apples and oranges and homemade granola.  I packed nuts, lots of nuts.  And for a special treat I bought fruit-leathers (not fruit roll-ups but the Stretch Island Fruit Company ones).   I keep thinking I’ll make my own, but time keeps getting scarcer!

The good news is we were successful in keeping it clean on the way out there.  We ate fairly wholesome foods while enjoying our family and friends in upstate even (minus a time or two when I caved so my kids could enjoy what the other kids were having).

But alas there is bad news too.  I cannot tell a lie, on the way back, I was disorganized, unprepared, and tired.  We ate like crap.  Total. Crap.  I felt like a fraud.  Writing this blog with my dedicated ways and then eating crap.  The silver lining exist though.  What I learned (AGAIN) is this: eating like crap affects my digestive system (I get extremely bloated and uncomfortable; thank god for digestzen from doTerra (you can find it by clicking on the link and searching for the product)), my mood goes downhill,  as does my general overall feeling of well-being. My family doesn’t articulate that they feel the same effects, but based on observation I can say it doesn’t serve them either.

Needless to say I was elated to make it home and resume some clean cooking.  My mind and body crave for me to take care of them, and they know when enough is enough.  And they were ready! My family agreed as well, shockingly, but in all honesty not quite so emphatically.  So here we are back in very hot and dry MT and we are happy and eating clean.

Did I mention it has been hot here? 90 plus everyday since returning. And so, everything we eat has to be on the grill or just require assembly.  I am so not turning on the oven and heating up our non air-conditioned house!  Know what I mean?

Anyways, I landed on this fantastic idea from Audrey’s Apron: https://audreysapron.wordpress.com/2014/06/12/southwestern-grilled-sweet-potato-salad/

I knew I wanted to use some sweet potatoes (we’ve been trying out some sweet potatoes and rice on occasion since we’ve pinpointed some specific allergens like corn), and I knew I wanted them grilled. I did a little google search and tada!

I tweaked this fantastic recipe just a tad to fit what I had in the pantry and to meet our dietary needs!  Obviously I omitted the corn first, I only used 1 avacado, and I didn’t use as much cilantro.  I used walnut oil since I was cooking the potatoes over some significant heat.  In hindsight I realized some diced jalapeno for spice would also have made a great addition.

All in all this is a hearty and flavorful dish that could be used as a main course, or as a side dish.  I could even see using it as filling in a taco.  What ideas do you have based on this recipe?  I’d love to hear!

Thanks for stopping by and as always may our kitchens (and medicine cabinets) become a little less processed one day at a time!

5 thoughts on “Grilled Sweet Potato Salad

    1. Thanks! I loved this. Hope its ok that I shared it. Not sure of the etiquette involved in sharing. Let me know if you know of a more appropriate way!

      Like

Leave a Reply

