Super Simple Shrimp Fried Rice and the Honest to Goodness Truth

11831644_1641731646041612_5521584246485733491_n

This summer has been crazy.  Way too busy, and I’ll be honest we’ve had our fair share of togetherness.  Starting the summer with 2 weeks packed in the car and in otherwise close quarters may not have been the best for my patience.  To be frank I’m certainly out of the race for Mother of the Year (hey there’s always next year).  With the constant feeding, sibling rivalry, whining and overscheduled days I am feeling less than creative and less and less committed to doing everything right.  I’m feeling more and more committed to survival, and for me that means I’m slacking on providing the ideal diet for my kiddo and for the rest of us, and that my friends is the honest to goodness truth!  These days a more appropriate title for my blog would be my almost unprocessed kitchen-haha!

Don’t get me wrong; I’m not letting my kids eat total garbage.  I haven’t thrown in the towel and adopted the Standard American Diet, but I am slipping in a little of this and a little of that here and there.  I still try to keep grains at bay for the most part, and I most definitely keep our diets gluten free, but I’m enjoying the convenience of rice from the rice cooker, gluten free bread and some rice crackers here and there.  So don’t judge me if the nature of my post change as I ride out this wave called life.  I’ll still keep it healthy and clean and hopefully provide inspirational ideas, but my plan is to keep in touch with my sanity along the way!

All that said, I don’t feel too bad about serving up this tasty super simple shrimp fried rice that was loaded with veggies like mushrooms, cabbage, broccoli, garlic and onions.

Here’s what I did:

3 rice cooker cups of rice (cooked and chilled)

1 cup of shredded cabbage (I like red for the color)

2 cups of broccoli heads (I pull them apart with my hands so they are small and bite size)

1/2 onion diced

3 cloves of garlic minced

5 mushrooms diced

4 cups of shrimp peeled and deveined

3-4 Tablespoons of Sesame Oil

1/2 cup of Braggs Amino Acid

3 eggs scrambled

Use 2 tablespoons of Sesame Oil to pan fry the shrimp until pink all the way through.  Remove the shrimp and drain any liquid.  Scramble the 3 eggs in a separate pan and set aside.  Add remaining sesame oil to the wok and saute onions, garlic, mushrooms, cabbage and broccoli on medium-high heat.  Once veggies are cooked to your desired tenderness add the rice, scrambled eggs, and braggs.  Give it a good stir and enjoy.  If you have some hot peppers they would make a great addition to the dish if everyone you are feeding can take the heat! I was eyeing our jalapenos from the garden but decided to eliminate the possibility of any complaining from the troops!

Well thanks for hearing me out and for stopping by! And as always, may our kitchens (and medicine cabinets) become a little less processed one day at a time!

Leave a Reply

