Kale, Chard, Chicken and Rice -Because I Have to Use the Veggies Before They Go Bad- Soup

12074500_1665487200332723_6634283494775645217_n
Kale, Chard, Chicken and Rice Soup

I love fall for so many reasons, but one of the reasons I love fall is because all my friends are harvesting their gardens and they share the love!  I have a very tiny garden at the moment, so I am the first to shout, “ME” when they offer the fruits of their labor.  Most recently my dear friend Margot gifted me with a huge assortment of veggies.  Loads of carrots, kale, chard, and tomatoes.  But mostly lots and lots of kale and chard.  I used some here and I used some there, and then I still had lots.  It was going to go bad if I didn’t get to it.

So what to do? Make soup!  It’s my go to when there are items that need to be used before they go to waste.  I hate, hate, hate wasting.  And fortunately or unfortunately this is when I tend to get the most creative. This time of year creativity usually takes the form of soup.

The results of my creativity can be a good thing, and sometimes, not so much.  But this one was a win.  We all thought it tasted like a Gumbo and the beautiful thing about that is: I didn’t have the labor intensive step of the rue!  I don’t know about you, but I find making a rue to be tricky, and honestly I just hate it. I once ruined one of our gas burners in an attempt at making rue. Long and silly story there, but one I apparently haven’t gotten over.

Anyways, here’s the low down:

2 cups of cooked rice

1 bunch of Kale chopped

1 bunch of chard chopped ( I know bunch is vague, but I didn’t measure, I just used what I had)

1 onion diced

1 red pepper diced

2 quarts of bone broth

5 grilled chicken thighs using avocado oil salt and pepper only

Salt and Pepper to taste

2 tablespoons of avocado oil

3 cloves of garlic minced

Saute the garlic and onions in the oil until onions are translucent.  Add chopped greens and toss with onions and garlic. Cook for 1-2 minutes, stirring to coat with oil.  Add Bone Broth.  Simmer until greens are tender.  Use an immersion blender to puree the greens in the broth. Add rice and shredded grilled chicken thighs.  Salt and Pepper to taste.  So good for you and so good!

Thanks for checking in and to my instagram followers, sorry I am so behind on my recipes.  I keep thinking I’ll find a rhythm with juggling all that I’m doing right now, but alas it hasn’t happened!  Which is a good thing technically, but I won’t get into all that.

Until we meet again, and as always, may our kitchens (and medicine cabinets) become a little less processed one day at a time!

Leave a Reply

