The Essential Oil of Boundaries

 

images (19)

I’ve been really intrigued with clove essential oil from a cleansing perspective lately.  In my classes I like to teach about the support it can offer us due to its powerful antioxidant properties. In the Natural News e-letter, Paul Fassa, writes, “Clove oil is an unusually powerful antioxidant. Antioxidant capacity is measured by ORAC (Oxygen Radical Absorption Capacity). Although the dried buds or powders rank highly among antioxidants, clove oil is the monster antioxidant. As an essential oil, clove’s ORAC rating soars to over 10 million. Most other antioxidants are rated in the tens of thousands to a maximum of a few hundred thousand at best.” So as far as clove essential oil is concerned, that is a freaking ton of antioxidants, don’t you think?

According to my handy Modern Essentials Phone App, historically speaking cloves have been used for digestive upsets, skin infections, intestinal parasites, childbirth and toothaches.  When certified pure clove essential oil is taken internally (do your research; this is a very personal choice) or used topically, it is known to affect the cardiovascular, digestive, immune, and respiratory systems.

All that is well and good, and having experienced the support and benefits of clove essential oil on my physical body, I decided to take a closer look at the emotional properties related to aromatic use of certified pure clove essential oil.  According to Emotional Healing with Essential Oils by Daniel Macdonald, clove essential oil is the oil of boundaries.  No wonder I like it! I am definitely one of those persons in the universe that could use help with this.  By nature I am a total people pleaser, often with disregard for my own self. What boundaries?

Macdonald goes on to say that Clove essential oil offers great support for persons with a “victim mentality”.  It supports these individuals in standing up for themselves, for making their own choices, and letting go of what other’s might think.  It reconnects the individuals with their personal integrity, helping them to build up appropriate boundaries and defenses.  And I have to say, while I don’t consider myself as one with a victim complex, a lot of this really resonates with me.

Macdonald goes on to say that it’s great for supporting those who have damage to the self, due to childhood pain or trauma (who doesn’t have this, lol?!). And, it can assist individuals in breaking free of abusive tendencies, by replenishing a sense of self, and supporting one in standing up for their own needs.  Daniel Macdonald says, “Clove insist that we live true to ourselves and the Divine by establishing clean boundaries.”

In hindsight, all of this is incredibly interesting.  While I’ve been using a protective essential oil blend for immune support that includes certified pure clove essential oil, I’ve been experiencing a surge of personal growth experiences that ring true with so much of this.  For the first time in my life, I am trying to live true to myself and not just in regard to what I think may or may not please others.  And I kind of like it.  I feel bolder and stronger and more courageous.  It’s cool. Cool like clove oil.

*Clove is a caustic oil and must be used with caution in regards to aromatic, topical, and internal use

See more from Terra Tribe Essential Solutions on Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, and Instagram too!

Leave a Reply

